Top Ten Tuesday Thirty Six – Top Ten Hidden Gems

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/ meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

This weeks topic is another I was super excited about, as it means I get to talk about all of the underrated books that I adore.  So many of the books on this list are favourites of mine that I am desperate for more people to read for themselves, as they are all such beautiful stories that deserve so much more love than they currently receive.

So here are seven of my favourite hidden gems!

A List of Cages Header.png

I have not stopped talking about this book since I read it a few months ago, and for very good reason, because this book deserves so much more love!  It is a beautiful story about two foster brothers reuniting as they each face their own struggles, and is emotional and heartwarming books I have read in a long time.

When My Heart Joins The Thousands Header.png

This is another that I have been talking about non-stop for the past few months, because I can not believe that more people have not picked up this spectacular book up yet.  Not only is it such a heart-warming story with fantastic characters, but it also has amazing diversity and writing that will keep you reading from the offset.

The Girl From Everywhere Cover.jpg

The Girl from Everywhere header.png

If you are currently in a reading slump, or simply want a book to motivate you to read that little bit more, then this is definitely one to pick up.  This time travel story following Nix and her father’s crew as they return to Hawaii in an attempt to save her mother is addictive and fast paced in the best possible way, with beautiful settings and a plot that will draw you in from the very first page.

The Scorpio Races header.png

Although Maggie Stiefvater is not someone I would call an underrated author, this particular book by her is definitely a hidden gem of hers.  The atmosphere she manages to create with her magical writing instantly envelopes in this world of dangerous races and mystery, with this story another that I urge more people to pick up and adore for themselves.

The Game of Love and Death Header.png

I hardly ever hear this beautiful historical fiction novel even mentioned, let alone recommended anywhere near as much as it should be, as I adore absolutely everything about this story.  Not only is the concept so unique and intriguing, but the story itself deals with so many different topics including racism, poverty and sexuality, all of which is brought to life through Brockenbrough’s gorgeous writing style that suits this story perfectly.

We All Looked Up header.png

This is one of my old favourites, and for very good reason, as this book is a amazing story that follows four different students as their lives all begin to intertwine after the discovering that an asteriod is on course to hit earth in just a few months.  I adored the relationship between all of the characters, and Tommy Wallach’s writing style, and so I would love for more people to discover this hidden gem for themselves.

Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.png

Similarly to The Scorpio Races, this is one where so many people know of and love The Book Thief, yet few talk about this amazing book.  It is another beautiful story about life and the relationships between people, which accompanied by Markus Zusak’s gorgeous writing style makes this book another heart-warming read.

——–

What are some of your favourite hidden gem books?  What books do you think deserve more love?  Have you read any of these – what did you think?  Do you agree with my choices?

——–

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Thirty Six – Top Ten Hidden Gems

  1. I love lists of underrated books but they do tend to blow up the TBR. 🙂 Nice to see We All Looked Up on here- I read that one. Another “pending asteroid” strike kind of book where relationships took a lead role was All We Have Is Now by Lisa Schroeder. For some reason I’m drawn to that premise!

    The Scorpio Races is one I definitely want to read as I haven’t read anything by Stiefvater yet.

    Great list!

    Like

    1. Definitely, I’m pretty sure my TBR will be will huge after checking out everyone else’s posts! I’ll have to check out All We Have Is Now as I am also super drawn to books with that premise, so thanks for the recommendation 🙂
      Hope you enjoy The Scorpio Races!

      Like

  2. Yay for A List of Cages!! So glad to see it on a few lists this week! I really need to read The Scorpio Races and I Am the Messenger because I’ve read books by both those authors and know I really like their writing!😊

    Like

  3. I haven’t heard of most of these but The Girl From Everywhere + The Game of Love and Death sound pretty interesting. You take the prettiest pictures, btw! Any tips?

    Like

    1. Definitely recommend both of them, and hope you enjoy them if you read them 🙂
      Thank you so much! Honestly, I still don’t really know what I’m doing with book pictures, but the one thing I always try to make sure is that I have good lighting, which for means it is reasonable sunny, something which is sometimes a struggle considering I live in England!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah me too, my house is very badly lit. 😦 But I’m also very unoriginal when it comes to photos. But you’ve got such nice ones. The flowers are especially lovely!

    Like

    1. Thanks again! Lighting is honestly my biggest struggle – sometimes I have to retake a photo a good few times just because the lighting is never right! I don’t even remember where the flowers are from, but I know that you can pick up fake flowers for very cheap at loads of different place, I think for originality in photos, you just have to keep taking them and slowly you’ll begin to try out new things as time goes on – I’ve been taking bookish photos for years now, so its definitely taken me a while to figure out my style 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment