If you Liked This, Try This – YA to Adult Edition

TTT 35

Today I thought I would do a post that I haven’t done in a while, this time with a slight twist as I recommend adult books to try if you enjoyed some popular YA ones.  My reading has become alot more varied over the last year or so, and so this seemed like a good way to recommend some books if you would like to start branching out into new genres like me.

So here are some of my YA to adult recommendations!

Copy of Copy of Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

If you liked Truly Devious…. Try If We Were Villains

Copy of If You Liked This (1)

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

If, like me, your were a fan of the boarding school-esque setting in Truly Devious, then If We Were Villains will give you that and more, with an elite and brutal acting school in which seven young actors find their on-stage characters seeping into real-life.  Both of these schools are very prestigious and competitive to get into, and also including a boarding element, allowing tensions to rise even further as our characters are stuck together in the midst of these tragic events.

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (1)

Whilst the dual timelines is definitely more prominent in Truly Devious, the inclusion it in If We Were Villains is something that made this book so much more suspenseful and intriguing than it already is.  Unlike Maureen Johnson’s murder mystery, we get to follow Oliver as he is released after spending ten years in jail for the murder we follow in the book, and yet despite this we don’t know whether he actually did, knows who did, or was just framed.

7700ee46-6d4f-45a5-a3ef-507687cb98eb

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (2)

Well written cast of characters are one of my biggest weakness in books, and both of these hit that mark.  All of our characters in If We Were Villains are complex individuals who all bring something different to the story and to the group,  and so none of them fall to the background or are forgotten in the chaos.

Copy of Copy of Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

If you liked Illuminae… Try Sleeping Giants 

Copy of If You Liked This (2)

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (3)

One of the charms of both of these books is the unique ways in which they are written, using documents, diary entries and transcripts amongst many more to tell their stories.  Not only does it mean a individual and memorable reading experience from the start, but it also keeps the story moving at a good pace, which brings me on to….

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (4)

I dare anyone not to race through Sleeping Giants in exactly the same way they flew through Illuminae.  Every time you think the plot is starting to level out, you are face to face with another shocking twist to turn things upside down and make you desperate to keep the pages turning.

b25a9f84-5614-4540-9b23-b0820ec3b5d3

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (5)

If you were a fan of the slightly psychotic AIDAN, despite knowing that you really shouldn’t like a deadly computer as much as you do, then Sleeping Giants is ready to give you more ominous, seemingly all-knowing characters whose morals aren’t exactly the best.  None of the characters in this book are perfect, but the introduction of this morally grey character who is so high up in everything but whose identity we don’t know was something I adored about this sci-fi story.

Copy of Copy of Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

If you liked Furyborn…. Try Queen of the Tearling

Copy of If You Liked This (3)

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (6)

I for one am a little bored of the whole perfect chosen one trope who can do no wrong, and so one of the things that I loved about both of these books was the imperfect nature of their protagonists.  All Kelsea, Elianna and Rielle all have flaws and make mistakes that they then have to account for, yet they are still strong characters who lead their people.

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (7)

If epic fantasies and gorgeously detailed worlds are what grabbed you in Furyborn, then The Queen of the Tearling will hook you even more with its unique history and setting.  The world of the Tearling is one that never failed to fascinate me and kept me constantly wanting to know more about this detailed fantasy world.

0e278b76-6f0e-4e1c-9490-cdc7b905bc50

Copy of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (1)

One of my favourite things about Furyborn was the alternating chapters in which we got to see this world at two very different points in history, and to watch as events well in the past for one narrative unfold in another.  Whilst the first book in the Queen of the Tearling series doesn’t include this aspect, the second and third books both take us back to a time well before Kelsea’s and allow us an insight into why the Tearling is the way it is and how past events have shaped the current world.

flower 4

What adult books would you recommend for people looking to move out of YA?  Do you agree with my recommendations?  Have you read any of these – what did you think?

————

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s