Blue Lily, Lily Blue Review (i.e. I Think I am Officially in Love with The Raven Cycle…)

Ever since I read The Dream Thieves back in March, I was desperate to continue on with this series and read this next book as I just couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next.  However, despite this I was still actually planning to wait a little while to read this one, as since completely and utterly falling in love with this series, I didn’t want to just rush through this third book as I knew once I did read this book, I would be left with only the final book left.  But, as is probably evident, that did not end up happening as I just couldn’t hold off reading this one any longer, and had to return to this spectacular world and characters.  As soon as I started this one, I fell straight back into the story and into my love for everything about these books, as this third book was just as good as both of those that have come before, and one that I loved with absolutely everything. 

img_8383

As much as I adore pretty much everything about these books, it is most definitely the characters in this series that are one of my favourite aspect of it, and that in this third book that was no different.  Once again I loved all of the characters in this one, and loved how we got to watch them all grow and evolve even more in this book, as well as how we got to see some of the relationship between the characters change as the story progressed, particularly between Adam and Persephone, and Ronan and Blue.  I really enjoy the fact that this series, and this book in particular, is able to have quite a large cast of characters at times, and yet still allow them all to be individuals and to all have their own specific personality, and role in the story as a whole.  I also loved some of the new characters we got to meet in this book, such as Greenmantle and Piper, whose role in the story I really enjoyed and honestly I just loved both of their characters both individually and together.  I loved their sarcasm and the humour they sometimes brought whilst still being able to be the perfect antagonists for this story.  

img_8385

But as much as I enjoyed some of the platonic relationships in this installment, one thing that we saw so much more of and that I adored seeing was the growth of some of the romantic relationships as well.  Since the first book I have loved watching the slow and growth of Blue and Gansey’s relationship, and so I loved how this book continued the slow-burn of it, and showed how despite everything, there is still such a strong connection between the two of them, despite their romance being a forbidden one.  But as much as enjoyed the continuation of their growing relationship, two characters whose relationship I enjoyed even more had to Adam and Ronan, whose chemistry and developing romance I surprisingly did not see coming.  I can’t describe how happy I was watching some of their feelings slowly start to surface, but how neither of them truly acknowledged it or mentioned it, and so now can’t wait to read hopefully so much more about them in the next book.

‘See, Adam Parrish is wantable, worthy of a crush, not just by anyone, someone like Ronan, who could want Gansey or anyone else and chose Adam for his hungry eyes.’

As much as this is definitely a character driven series, that in no way means that the plot of this series, and this book is not just as amazing.  I loved how this book took a different turn again, and had almost a new focus from the last book, whilst still carrying on and continuing the main plot from the previous books.  I really enjoyed seeing old themes built upon again, such as Ronan’s ability and Adam’s connection to Cabeswater, but also still introduced new ideas as well, such as the three sleepers, that helped to keep adding more complexity and developing the plot more and more.  This is a series where you never really know what is going to happen, or what is going to be revealed next, so I loved watching more of these aspects come into play and affect our story in their own way.

img_8384

Finally, whilst yes, I do want to mention once again just how gorgeous Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is, another aspect of her writing that I enjoyed more and liked seeing more of in this book particularly was the development in the world building.  Whilst I’ve felt like the world was under developed in this series, I loved exploring it a little more and watching it grow more and more complex as the plot does as well.  It also added so much to the already beautiful atmosphere that had been created by the spectacular writing style, and just gave alot more depth to this world and this story.

Overall, this was yet another amazing book that continued on and developed the amazing characters and plot that just makes this series as good as it is.  This was just such a good continuation of this story and saw so many characters and aspects grow and evolve even more than they had already, and although it was not my favourite book in the series so far, it was definitely still an great read that I thoroughly enjoyed.  I can’t believe I now only have one more book to read before this series is over, but am also so excited to see what this final book holds!

img_8077

Quote:

‘Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn’t all-encompassing, that wasn’t blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she’d had this kind, she didn’t want the other.’

Song:

 

Describe the Book in 3 Words…

Magical, Character-Driven, Atmospheric

Rating:

4.75/5

flower 3flower 3flower 3flower 3Three Quarter Flower

Leave a Reply

